First Post: Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught “How To Write Character Voice” 101

This is my first post in this blog, I’ve had this blog around for a while, but did not know what I want this blog to concentrate on, but for now lets take it one post at the time.

Another first for me would be doing one of these meme posts. Chachic from Chachic’s Book Nook suggested I try to do the Top Ten Tuesday meme from The Broke and the Bookish.

Top10Tuesday-ver1

So this week’s topic is “Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught X 101 (examples: YA fantasy 101, feminist literature 101, magic in YA 101, classic YA lit 101, world-building 101)”. I’ve decided for mine to be: Character Voice 101. I don’t even know if this makes sense…it’s not the same as just character design, rather it’s about the character’s ability to speak to you as a reader. I’ve limited the books to those I’ve read recently (2014 – 2015), as I had a problem with listing a “top ten” if I included past books I’ve read.On the required reading list would be (in no particular order):

Amy Lane – The Locker Room
This book has the strongest impression on me since I’d just finished it. It is written in a style I would normally get annoyed with – too much telling not enough show – but this time I blazed right through it. The main character, Xander’s voice just connects; the book reads as though he’s speaking to you. Although it’s told in third person, you feel this connection with Xander; where some my find it a little detached, it allowed me a better understanding of how the character processes his thoughts and feelings.

Allison Parr – Rush Me (New York Leopards)
While I didn’t enjoy the book as much, the book did really well in creating a voice for the main character, Rachael. She is very believable…it was as though she was a friend or the girl next door. Her personality and train of thought was consistent and as I mentioned, very believable.

Sarina Bowen – Understatement of the Year (Ivy Series)
I love Rikker and Graham’s voices; their voices were well defined and despite being very different from one another they flowed really well. Their characters just made you want to reach in and just hug them, my heart broke for them…that was how convincing they were.

Sarina Bowen – The Year We Fell Down (Ivy Series)
The Year We Fell Down was my first exposure to Sarina, and her characters really stayed with me – so much so I continued to read all her release for the Ivy Series (at least till her latest one). Both the main characters, Corey and Hartley, were well written; the way the characters dealt with their issues was handled well. They reminded me of what it was like to be a student again in college. It was all just very natural…which appealed to me.

Elle Kennedy – The Deal (Off-Campus Series)
Hannah and Garrett. I especially liked Garrett, his character didn’t deny the fact he was a jock; he was arrogant, confident and knew how to used it to his benefits. The way both characters interacted with each other and their friends and the way they both grew and developed in the book was so natural. It was really well written that they broke some of the typical character stereotypes we’re used in books.

Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy – Him
A collaboration of two really good authors, both had written books where I fell in love with their characters (read above). This was no different, Jamie and Wes, both had such clear voices. Once again you wanted to give them both big hugs and root for them so hard. Their characters were well written, even their voices as the reminisced about their younger days and the hijinks they would get into would make you smile. They managed to capture the frustration and confusion in their characters really well.

Laura Florand – The Chocolate Temptation (Amour et Chocolat)
I read this series out of order, and in fact The Chocolate Temptation was the first book I read from Laura Florand. I learned that the author was very good with book’s setting, she makes your mouth water craving for chocolate, and makes you almost believe you could smell France in your room (or wherever you’re seat). I could relate somewhat to Sarah and so her voice resonated with me, and as I read her story, I wish one day I could just get up and find my Paris and do something I love. That is how much Sarah’s voice managed to reach out to me.

M.K. Schiller – The Do-Over
This book wrote a character I wanted to hug. Lanie’s insecurities and matter-of-fact personality was well written, her character really drew you in, and her voice didn’t get drowned out by all the drama-rama. Kyle was…meh, but Lanie…her character was definitely interesting.

I didn’t make it to 10 books this time, but I shall try harder to do so the next time round. Cheers to my debut piece on this blog! What are some of your top choices for Character Voices?

Before I end this, let me make a shames plug for my mainly photography blog, Espressodream (I say mainly, because I did post a couple of other topics there, but those are rare). I’ve not really blogged as consistently as I should, but still do check it out 😀

5 thoughts on “First Post: Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught “How To Write Character Voice” 101

  1. Congratulations on your first post! That’s pretty cool that you chose to start with a Top Ten Tuesday post. 🙂 I liked the topic that you chose since the first thing I have to like in the books I read are characters. I’ve read most of the books in your list but would have to check out The Locker Room (which was recommended by Sarina Bowen) and The Do-Over.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! These TTT are fun…and they help with thinking up blog posts and sharing bookish thoughts 🙂 I am definitely a character person…I enjoy books more if I get pulled in by their voices.

      Like

Leave a Reply

