A Follow Up From My Previous TTT Post: Flirting with Disaster – Ruthie Knox

I’ve never really done book reviews before, so I’m probably pretty bad at it. This isn’t so much a book review, rather it’s a follow up to the last Top Ten Tuesday post I wrote on Character Voices. I was two books short so here is another one which I would add to that list had I read this book before posting that meme 😉

Flirting With Disaster

Just finished Ruthie Knox’s Flirting with Disaster, and she had managed to write a huggable character (huggable to me at least). This book would have made it to my “required reading list” due to Sean Owens’ voice.

Sean Owens’ character was absolutely adorable, his stuttering made him even more endearing to me. The way he tried to overcome his speech impediments especially in front of the girl he had a crush on in high school and was still attracted to as an adult was adorable (I can’t think of any other words to describe him). Sean was by no way shy, despite his speech disorder, he can be quite mischievous around the main heroine. Plus, he’s a reader. Although, he enjoys reading sci-fi which is not a genre I particularly enjoy, it is still a huge plus! Bookworm traits are always sexy.

While the book didn’t make it into my absolute favorite reads, due to reasons which had to do with a weak story line, and underdeveloped side characters – some were characters from her earlier books in the series which I did not read, but there were others mentioned in the book which could have been fleshed out further; it was Sean’s character which managed to ween his way into my heart.

This was my introduction to Ruthie Knox and probably not my last attempt at reading her work. She did managed to write a character which caught my attention enough for me to finish a book despite certain elements which did not workout for me.

2 thoughts on “A Follow Up From My Previous TTT Post: Flirting with Disaster – Ruthie Knox

  1. I know I’ve read this before but I can’t really recall the details of the story. My favorite Ruthie Knox is Big Boy, that was also the first of hers that I’ve read. Hope you get to read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

