Book Review: Dark Wild Night (#3 Wild Seasons) by Christina Lauren

BR-CL-DWN

Christina Lauren‘s third book in the Wild Seasons series, Dark Wild Night. This is probably my favorite of the three original couple which went to Vegas: Lola + Oliver = Loliver 🙂 I have no idea who the guy I used in the graphic I designed for this post is, but if I had to imagine Oliver, he probably looks a lot like the guy above, only with blue eyes (but this is as close as it gets, lol). This book was a really quick read for me, I completed it a lot quicker than I expected.

Summary from Goodreads

Lola and Oliver like to congratulate themselves on having the good sense to not consummate their drunken Las Vegas wedding. If they’d doubled-down on that mistake, their Just Friends situation might not be half as great as it is now.

… Or so goes the official line.

In reality, Lola’s wanted Oliver since day one—and over time has only fallen harder for his sexy Aussie accent and easygoing ability to take her as she comes. More at home in her studio than in baring herself to people, Lola’s instinctive comfort around Oliver nearly seems too good to be true. So why ruin a good thing?

Even as geek girls fawn over him, Oliver can’t get his mind off what he didn’t do with Lola when he had the chance. He knows what he wants with her now … and it’s far outside the friend zone. When Lola’s graphic novel starts getting national acclaim—and is then fast-tracked for a major motion picture—Oliver steps up to be there for her whenever she needs him. After all, she’s not the kind of girl who likes all that attention, but maybe she’s the kind who’ll eventually like him.

Sometimes seeing what’s right in front of us takes a great leap of faith. And sometimes a dark wild night in Vegas isn’t just the end of a day, but the beginning of a bright new life…

divider

Lola and Oliver were the couple I was actually waiting for out of the three couples which met in Vegas. Unlike the other two there wasn’t some ‘instalove’ with this couple. It wasn’t like they had a wild crazy sex night in Vegas then couldn’t forget one another, instead it was something which started with a crush which grew into an incredibly comfortable friendship that eventually grew into something more. I really like friends to lover story lines, where the characters are more cautions and they learn more about each other before taking that step to the whole ‘love-you-forever’ declarations. I like the idea that they were both comic geeks, one runs a comic store and the other draws them, which is just too geeky cute!

The plot was pretty predictable, I think the reason why it was such a quick read is because we knew what was going to happen. I was just waiting to see who would take the first step in moving from friends to lover (although this was also quite predictable), then the impending break-up. When it did happen, it didn’t surprise me, instead I was just interested to see how they were gonna fix things between them. I also wished there was more on what happened in Vegas between the two, perhaps more detailed flashback, instead of just ‘tellings’ of how the talked or night and that pivotal situation where Oliver rejected Lola’s invite to get a room together.

What drew me in was Oliver, what’s not to love about a guy who is careful about who he jumps into a relationship with? He just makes me smile. He is just so wonderful and so adorably geeky especially when he declares to be Lola’s biggest fan boy and loudest cheerleader, then admits to wearing her comic “Razor Fish” t-shirt as often as he could! Absolutely cute! I actually enjoyed reading the story from Oliver’s POV, a lot more than Lola’s. I will have to admit, Lola did annoyed me. I felt she was selfish and incredibly dense, she somehow expect Oliver to just accept and understand her reasons, yet makes very little efforts to communicate. There were instances I couldn’t understand what Oliver saw in her, she was just a nervous-wreck most of the time, she panicked a lot and withdrew into herself a lot. Oliver was basically there to be her rock, the person who just wants to know how he can help her, and that makes me swoon for him. I think because she uncommunicative and pessimistic about her ability to hold up her side of the relationship, pushes the readers to fall harder for Oliver, just because of how accepting he is towards her brand of crazy.

Another favorite character of mine is Not-Joe; the guy is awesome! He has his own brand of random crazy which I can get 😀 Although, Oliver doesn’t seem to feel the same:

“I’m not going to fret over the opinion of a man who spent much of an evening out watching cows being milked before moving on to videos of men pulling trucks using ropes tied to their dicks.”

HA HA HA! Yes, Not-Joe definitely did spend a night out with the group watching videos of cows being milked…and that is just how random he is, and its always interesting to see what he’s got to say. At times I feel as though Not-Joe is voicing what I wanna say to the couple.

My take away from this book:

“…sometimes you need to do it all wrong before you know how to do it right.”

I think this is also one of my favorite quote in the book. This was definitely what Lola did, she did it all wrong, made the wrong choices in terms of her work and her relationship with Oliver. She eventually did learn, which is her saving grace, together they tried to make it work.

Personally, I felt this couple was better than the other two. Overall, it was an okay read, I doubt it would be too memorable for me besides being the book with the dorky comic book couple. But if you’re looking for a quick breezy read with a wonderful book boyfriend this is it – Oliver is such a wonderful boyfriend, its almost sad he wasn’t real. I won’t be reading the next one only because I’ve read the blurb and I don’t think I would be able to connect with the characters nor am I interested in them.

Have you read the book/series? If you did, what did you think of it? If not, do you think it is something which you’d be interested in?

divider

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Dark Wild Night (#3 Wild Seasons) by Christina Lauren

  1. I’ve read the three books in the series but I think I skimmed some parts of the first two. They were all easy to get into but there’s something missing that I can’t pinpoint, that prevented me from loving the books. Loliver is also my favorite. And I agree with you that Lola was being selfish in this book. Also, nice graphic! Perfect choice for Oliver.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

