Book Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie James

BR-JJ-SOS

Summer has passed us a month plus back, but I’ve only just finished this summer read recently. Suddenly One Summer was released in June 2015 which would be perfect for summer reading, the only thing is, where I’m from its ALWAYS SUMMER! I call it the eternal summer cycle so there isn’t really a time limit…summer is YEAR LONG 😀

Julie James is one of those authors who was recommended to me and I took to her books like moth takes to flame…perhaps bee to honey would be a better description; anyways, lets just say I basically read one book then another then another, and before I knew it I was pretty much caught up and looking forward to the next release. So, without further ado lets get on with the synopsis for this book.

Summary from Goodreads

Divorce lawyer Victoria Slade has seen enough unhappy endings to swear off marriage forever. That doesn’t mean she’s opposed to casual dating—just not with her cocky new neighbor, who is as gorgeous and tempting as he is off-limits. But once she agrees to take on his sister’s case, she’s as determined to win as ever—even if that means teaming up with Ford…

Investigative journalist Ford Dixon is bent on finding the man who got his sister pregnant and left her high and dry. He’s willing to partner with Victoria, despite the fact that the beautiful brunette gets under his skin like no other woman. He might not be looking to settle down, but there’s no denying the scorching attraction between them. Still, the more time he spends with Victoria, the more he realizes that the one woman as skeptical about love as he is might be the only woman he could really fall for…

divider

I’ll be honest, this one took me awhile to get through, it did not catch me the way some of the other books did. Julie James tends to be a breezy quick read for me, but this particular one took me more then 2 months reading it on and off. I did start it in the summer, then I got caught up by other books then…it somehow just got pushed to the back of my list.

This one was a little different from her usual lawyer/FBI investigation combo, there was some “mystery” and investigative scenarios yet the case just didn’t grip me – I wasn’t as invested into finding out who the baby-daddy to Ford’s sister was. Instead it felt as though family issues and childhood was the main theme in this story.

I really stuck through the book for the characters, Victoria is really this no-nonsense divorce lawyer who feels this strong need to appear alright in front of everyone, even if inside she really isn’t; and of course there’s Ford, easy going, and a really cheeky investigative journalist, he really does say the darnest things which makes me laugh out loud. A lot of the conversation between them are snappy and hilarious as befitting Julie James, its one of the things which I love about her writing, are the witty bantering between the two main characters and some of their sassy lines. Both characters are flawed in their own ways and are trying to work through their issues, and I like that part…it wasn’t like they woke up one morning found each other and everything just fell into place, instead it was something they had to discover and work through.

I just gotta share some of my favorite lines, so you can get a sense of her writing if you’ve not read her work before:

“She heard the tiny cry of a hundred unfertilized eggs as one of her ovaries exploded.”
– Victoria when she first sees Ford fresh out of the shower.
“I have self-selected out of the happily-ever-after rat race, so to speak.”
– Victoria speaking about her view of marriage and how it’s not for her.
“I don’t understand how your gender survives. All the blood drains out of your brains the minute your penises get any bright ideas.”
– Victoria on how Ford seems to have a one track mind.

I know most of these are lines from Victoria, but Ford definitely has his fair share of good lines, which you should definitely read the book to find out more 🙂

And of course the main characters have their crew, while Victoria’s friends doesn’t really stand out to me…it is Ford’s pals – Charlie and Tucker who really has me laughing. It was also nice to see Brooke appear once in awhile, she doesn’t play as big a role, but still nice to see known characters from previous books make an appearance, it feels as though the universe still continues!

While this book is a lot slower pace than what I’m used to from her writing, and I wouldn’t say its one of my favorite reads from her, it was still a pretty entertaining read. So, if you’ve not read it, do try, although you can read this as a standalone it doesn’t hurt to go back and give Julie James’ other work a try. If you’ve read it, what did you think?

divider

The photograph from my banner was taken by Luis Llerena from StockSnap.io. I didn’t want to over engineer this image, instead I wanted it to be simple and breezy with the feel of summer; I knew I didn’t want anything too beach-y, since the whole story was set in the city, I wanted a more metropolitan feel but still needed the whole “summertime” ambiance. Then I came across this photo and thought it was PERFECT! I really do enjoy editing graphics for my blog post, in fact, I try my best to make sure I have custom-made graphics for each post. Till next time 😀

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie James

  1. perhaps bee to honey would be a better description

    My dear, bees MAKE honey. 😛 Anyway, I feel like I had a very similar reaction to yours. While I enjoyed reading this and I liked some of the banter, it really wasn’t as good as Julie James’ other novels.

    Like

Leave a Reply

