Reading Now: The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

RN-EB-TSR

I just decided on a whim to start this little category titled Reading Now, just so I could post the pictures I photograph of the books I’m reading and to talk a little about the book cover designs and just whatever I want about the book…perhaps even my first impression of the first few pages or chapters I’ve read so far. I think I really just want a platform to show off my own photographs πŸ˜›

I received this copy from Chachic while I was in Singapore for work; she had recommended some books to me and this was one of them. I really should do a book haul but its sorta inconvenient to haul all my books to work just to photograph them. So I might just end up taking them into the office one by one. Why do I photography my books at work? Long story short, I’m rarely home…I’m in the office most of the day, the best lighting is natural light in the daytime, but the time I get home its dark and my house only has warm lighting which is not the best for when it comes to photographing these things. I don’t have too many props in the office but I was drinking apple mint, cucumber and lemon infused water, in a pretty mason jar so thats what I used πŸ™‚

divider

Firstly, lemme gush about the cover! I was really drawn to the cover at first sight; it made me curious and I actually wanted to read it despite the fact I’m not too big on dystopian fictions, but because of the cover I was willing to give this a try.Β I like the simplicity of it, and how they incorporated the essential imageryΒ of the story in such a minimalistic yet carefully detailedway. A simple vectored throne-like chairΒ covered in vectored images of scorpion in red and black I love it! Then there was the typography and placement of the title and author’s name. It wasn’t overly fussy,Β and was arranged where it would be easy to read, with a simple sans-serif block type with the tail of a scorpion hanging off the letter “L”. Maybe I think too much about book covers, or I am over thinking this, but I really liked it πŸ˜€

As forΒ my first impression of its content. One word. GOAT. I’m already wondering as to the importance of the goat…and I’m only 2 chapters into the book and all I can think about is Greta’s (the heroine) line:

“Our duty is with the goat”.

Yes, its a line in the book, and she says it in such a mannerΒ it makes me think if the goat will eventually play a much bigger part. I won’t spoil the story and tell you as to what the goat’s name is, you can find out about it when you read the book πŸ˜€ I am not trying to be funny here but thats really what my first impression was. Honestly, I don’t know what to think about the book as of yet…I’m sorta tempted to just flip to the last few pages to see how it ends, but I won’t!

divider

How about you? What are you reading at the moment? It’s almost Halloween, perhaps you may have picked something a little creepier, a little spookier? Or perhaps you’re picking something closer to the romantic feelings of autumn? Do share!

7 thoughts on “Reading Now: The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

  1. Nice bookish picture there! I wish I have me some photography skills but alas! I’m also definitely staying in tune to your final thoughts on The Scorpion Rule. Everyone raves about it on Goodreads!

    As for my October reads…. I really have no idea what to read! I’m not feeling the need to pick up a really scary book which sucks because I’m not so into fluffy reads either. So now, I’m in a reading slump. HELP.

    Like

    1. Thanks πŸ˜€ I try to come up with something creative with bookish photography…but with the lack of props and probably skills it does makes it a little bland LOL.
      I’ll be completely honest with you dystopian is rarely my cup of tea…I’m really in it for the book’s cover πŸ˜‰
      Ouch…a book slump! I tend to go out of my reading comfort zone when that happens, try to cleanse the reading palate πŸ™‚ Either that or I’d try to reread a good oldie πŸ˜€ Hope that helps!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha I actually notice a few bookish photographers go to such a long length as to buy props just to snap a few good shots of their books! Honestly I like how minimalistic yours is πŸ™‚

        Oh! I’ve been thinking of reading something incredibly out of my league xD so yes, it helps!

        Like

      2. I’ve seen, but I think it would look quite awkward to set something like that up in the office πŸ˜› Thank you, I do what I can with what I have πŸ˜‰ Good luck with fighting off that slump!

        Like

  2. That shot looks so fresh, I think it looks awesome! I saw the final copy of The Scorpion Rules at the bookstore and the background is silver, which is different from this ARC. And yes, the goat references in the book are hilarious. Hope you enjoy reading this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

