Reading Now: Alistair Grim’s Odditorium by Gregory Funaro

RN-GF-AGO

I’ve actually just finished A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, I need some time to digest the book before I write a review, therefore I decided to do a post on the book I’m presently reading. I was reading this sorta simultaneously but ended up finishing that book first. So now I will be giving Alistair Grim’s Odditorium my full attention 😀 

divider

I love the cover to this book, you will find a lot of the time, I pick up a book because of its cover and what it may promise me. Publishers who might accidentally read this post, please pick your cover designs a little more carefully…because the wrong covers might just turn me off. Although not completely, if I’m familiar with the author or find the summary interesting I might still pick it up, but the right cover just makes it all the better.

Besides the cover design, the title really caught my eye, especially the play on words with “Auditorium” and “Odditorium”; it’s pronounced quite closely, but obviously the are spelled and mean completely different things 😀 I just like that whimsical trait to it.

I’ve gotten a few chapters in and am enjoying it, the book also contains illustrations by Vivienne To, she is the Art Director on The Lego Batman Movie. I’m not really too familiar with her work but so far, I feel she has managed to capture the scenes and the characters so well, its definitely a wonderful supplement to the imagination as I’m reading.

divider

Have you read this book? What did you think of it if you have? Just by looking at the cover, would you give this a go? Do share 😀

One thought on “Reading Now: Alistair Grim’s Odditorium by Gregory Funaro

Leave a Reply

