Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Quotes Which Got My Attention From Books I Read In The Past Year…

Base Photo by Daniel Nanescu

Finally back in KL, and started work again yesterday and before I realize it, its time for another TTT meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is on the “Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year or So…” and I’ve quite a few I’d love to share; although I already do quote posts, I’ll try not to repeat any that I’ve already shared as a challenge to myself. I wouldn’t call it my top ten rather I’d just put is down as “10 quotes which got my attention…” 😀 These are just quotes I’d manage to highlight…and I didn’t make it a habit till recently…so I might be short of 10. divider

These quotes are in no particular order…its mostly which one I recall first from my pretty bad memory.

Patrick Ness – A Monster Calls

1.

“His mum had her own bread and cereal which she bought at a health food shop in town and which Conor thankfully didn’t have to share. It tasted as unhappy as it looked.”

While this feels very much like a passing phrase, it was one of the earlier quote which caught my eye while I was reading the book. Somehow, I felt a slight tug to my heart as how the food Conor’s mom ate was described from Conor’s point of view. It just seem to reflect how he felt about his mom’s situation even down to the food she had to take while she was sick. I just felt impressed and emotional at how Ness portrayed breakfast for Conor.

2.

Stories are wild creatures, the monster said. When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?

I can rarely explain how I feel about certain quotes, this was one of those few quotes which just rang true to me. Stories really do take a life of their own; having done creative writing before, I somehow understood this particular quote quite well…stories just grow on their own like wild creatures…when you put them out there you just never know what to expect.

3.

There is not always a good guy. Nor is there always a bad one. Most people are somewhat inbetween.

I believe this. Things in reality are rarely black or white…they’re always somewhat grey…it just to what shade of grey they are.

Laini Taylor – Daughter of Smoke and Bone

4.

“Love is a luxury.”

“No. Love is an element.”

An element. Like air to breathe, earth to stand on.

There are many many ways to describe love; its been written about so many times its probably one of the most defined words/emotion…but this was a good one and definitely worth sharing.

5.

“Happiness. It was the place where passion, with all its dazzle and drumbeat, met something softer: homecoming and safety and pure sunbeam comfort. It was all those things, intertwined with the heat and the thrill, and it was as bright within her as a swallowed star.”

A very beautiful description of “happiness”.

Laura Florand – The Chocolate Rose

6.

“It was a nice June day, balmy and easy. A bright feeling seemed to glow in the people who spilled into the gardens at the perfect weather, in the laughter of the children playing with little sailboats on the pond in front of the Palace, in the fresh hope of new lovers clinging to each other, in the easy comfort of lovers of longer standing who lounged in chairs by each other reading, in the old, worn happiness of a white-haired couple walking hand in hand, whose love for each other had been used and worked like fifty-year-old shoes into something so exactly fitted to them that those bright new lovers wouldn’t recognize it in their high-heeled love. But oh, how they would be grateful for it, fifty years on, if they reached that perfect fit, too.”

I love Laura Florand’s writing, they way she describes the locations and the way she find ways to describe a certain emotion is just so raw and beautiful. Here she uses the imagery of the different shoes we wear in life.

7.

“I thought maybe I didn’t have to put every single bite of my whole self out there on a plate for someone to eat. Maybe just some bites would do. And when you reach that point, it’s time to let another chef step up.”

On how Daniel feels when he serves his creations to patrons…it just made me realize how much chefs do when they send out each plate for us to taste. They’re artists too, only their work of art is edible, and therefore each plate they put out they really just put themselves out there…and somehow from the way Florand describes it, I can somehow feel his exhaustion and need to retire. This was a good one.

Erin Bow – The Scorpion Rules

8.

“Slavery is no part of natural law.”

Well said…while I DNF’ed the book, there was definitely brilliance in it. This was one of those quotes which needs no explanation.

9.

“My question is, would the world be better off if ruled by goats? They seem to have a knack.”

I wonder that sometimes too…especially with whats going on lately. Only, I’m not too sure I’d be too happy with the smell.

Amy Lane – The Locker Room

10.

“Get the fucking ball down the fucking court and into the fucking net!”

Sometimes I just feel I need a mantra like that…hence I decided to share it here. It’s good to have something to chant to yourself to get yourself going.

divider

These are my 10 picks of quotes which caught my attention in the books I read the past year. Some are more memorable than others; and some perhaps would mean something to you too. Feel free to share your favorites quotes or highlight any you think I should notice or perhaps would like 😀

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Quotes Which Got My Attention From Books I Read In The Past Year…

Leave a Reply

