Bookish Ramblings: Reading Slumps

BRambling

“When you’re in a Slump,
you’re not in for much fun.
Un-slumping yourself
is not easily done.”

– Dr. Seuss, Oh The Places You’ll Go

This is the situation I’m in…

divider

Right now I in the middle of a reading slump; regardless of what I pick up, I’m having a hard time finishing or getting through them. Despite how much I know I would enjoy them, I just can’t seem to get into them. With quite a bit of difficulty, I’ve managed to finish a book in the past 3 weeks, and has been reading a few books on and off – more off than on, to be honest.

So just as Dr. Seuss rhymes, “un-slumping yourself is –definitely not easily done!” 😦

Usually, I’d try to read something familiar and something I know I’d enjoy…but thats not working. I’ve also tried to stop reading for a bit, but I get fidgety and start thumbing through my Kindle…then the frustrations starts up all over again.

I was just on a short break (5 days) where I’d barely read and just interacted with people (it got to be a little too much at some point – 4 girls in a one room apartment for 5 days). Even then the slump did not relieve its hold on me, instead I just grew wary.

I HAVE LOST MY READING MOJO!!!

So here I am asking, would any of you out there happen to have any ideas or remedy for relieving oneself from a reading slump? Or perhaps, any book recommendations which has managed to pull you out of your reading slumps?  I’m open to suggestions at this point 😀

divider

Credits: The original photograph used in the above banner is photographed by Mikhail Pavstyuk, taken from StockSnap.io.

3 thoughts on “Bookish Ramblings: Reading Slumps

  1. Reading slumps suck! I’m grateful I haven’t had a slump in ages. Usually when I have one, I’d go for books that are easy to get into like chick lit novellas or graphic novels. Or I do something different instead of reading, like working on blog posts or visiting/commenting on other blogs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

