Book Review: The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan

BR-KC-THU.png

I read this in the beginning of the month(?) and wanted to make sure I noted my thoughts before I forget them πŸ˜› 

I went to school in Texas and football was a pretty big thing when I was a student, both in high school and in college. Even if I was considered a 2%er (those who didn’t have that huge of an interest in the sports teams in college; but of course we were still proud and cheered on our schools) – even up till today I do try to keep up with the football scores especially during Thanksgiving. Especially Thanksgiving πŸ˜€ Hence I felt the need to review this book during this period – although Thanksgiving has come and gone…so has Black Friday. So lets start with the synopsis πŸ˜€

divider

Summary from Goodreads:

22611920The rules: no kissing on the mouth, no staying the night, no telling anyone, and above all… No falling in love.

Anna Jones just wants to finish college and figure out her life. Falling for star quarterback Drew Baylor is certainly not on her to do list. Confident and charming, he lives in the limelight and is way too gorgeous for his own good. If only she could ignore his heated stares and stop thinking about doing hot and dirty things with him. Easy right?

Too bad he’s committed to making her break every rule…

Football has been good to Drew. It’s given him recognition, two National Championships, and the Heisman. But what he really craves is sexy yet prickly Anna Jones. Her cutting humor and blatant disregard for his fame turns him on like nothing else. But there’s one problem: she’s shut him down. Completely.

That is until a chance encounter leads to the hottest sex of their lives, along with the possibility of something great. Unfortunately, Anna wants it to remain a hook up. Now it’s up to Drew to tempt her with more: more sex, more satisfaction, more time with him. Until she’s truly hooked. It’s a good thing Drew knows all about winning.

All’s fair in love and football…Game on.

divider

I’ve been reading quite a few sports romance this year; actually just Hockey and I think one was Rugby, so when I heard all the buzz on the 3rd book of The Game On series by Kristen Callihan, I thought Football…I should definitely give it a try. So I picked up the first book of the series.

What I liked:

  1. Drew – while his character isn’t different in terms of athlete main characters, his person was definitely likable. He’s a jock, and while it does define him it doesn’t consume him; he’s got a brain (thank god), and he’s got flaws.

What didn’t work for me:

  1. Drew’s suddenly obsession with Anna – okay this is about instalove; at least on Drew’s side, he just KNEW she was the one for him…spouting things his mama told him that he’d just know. I’m sorry I just don’t buy it. Although I have a pair of friends who fell in love at first sight…I just don’t buy Drew’s gut-i-know-she’s-the-one. It was just too convenient.
  2. Anna’s excuses to keep this a hookup – she is attracted to him, she knows he’s attracted to her…while I get she has her past which wasn’t too great, having been bullied, as well as having body image issues her reasons for pushing him away just got irritating. I’m not the most secure person and have my own insecurity, but I don’t think I’d go and cut myself off from an opportunity.
  3. The ending – I won’t go into too much detail but the last few chapters I felt was really to build a lead into the next book, it just made the story draggy, I didn’t need the added conflict…it was too much for an ending! Instead I felt it could have come sooner instead of sticking it in the last few chapters.

divider

I might be part of the minority which didn’t fall in love with the book. I honestly wanted to enjoy it more! HONESTLY! I think on Goodread I gave it a 3-star? But thats only because I’m not too good with this whole rating thing, and you can’t really give half a star. In reality, I’d prolly have just given it 2.5 stars. Only because I actually liked Drew’s character.

It started out as a pretty difficult read. I just couldnt get into the reason on how they got together and the whole instant-attraction-love-thing. I was thinking of just dropping the book at the beginning but I thought lets just keep going, lets see where it takes us. I wanted to see why all the raving reviews about how much they loved it. In the end, it just didn’t work out for me.

But there is a quote which I really liked from the book, in fact it was the only thing I highlighted in the whole book.

“…I have to discover what I want to do with my life. I could end up with the greatest career in the world, but at the end of the day, who I come home to, who I share my accomplishments with is what makes the struggle worth it.”

This was said by Anne about Drew; and I found it ring true about any relationships. We can have many things we want in life and we will fight to attain them, but at the end of the day we too would want someone to share them with; both our success and even failures with. We are just looking to have someone where we can share our joys and happiness with and to have that is worth the struggles.

divider

Would I recommend this? Not really…not unless you’re into college-jocks and instalove. It just wasn’t as strong a read for me, compared to all the other NA sports romance I’ve read. If you’ve read it…I would love to hear your thoughts on this πŸ˜€

The image in the banner was taken by Skitter Photo taken from StockSnap.io.

One thought on “Book Review: The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan

Leave a Reply

