Book Review: Rush Me (New York Leopards #1) by Allison Parr

BR-AP-RM.png

I was looking through some of my older reads this year and decided I should write up some reviews for some of them. I had actually read this book awhile back; I’ll do my best to recall as much as I can.

So lets get started 😀

xmas-divider

Synopsis from Goodreads

When post-grad Rachael Hamilton accidentally gate-crashes a pro-athlete party, she ends up face-to-face with Ryan Carter, the NFL’s most beloved quarterback.

While most girls would be thrilled to meet the attractive young millionaire, Rachael would rather spend time with books than at sporting events, and she has more important things to worry about than romance. Like her parents pressuring her to leave her unpaid publishing internship for law school.

But when Ryan’s rookie teammate attaches himself to Rachael, she ends up cohosting Friday-night dinners for half a dozen football players.

Over pancake brunches, charity galas and Alexander the Great, Rachael realizes all the judgments she’d made about Ryan are wrong. But how can a Midwestern Irish-Catholic jock with commitment problems and an artsy, gun-shy Jewish New Englander ever forge a partnership? Rachael must let down her barriers if she wants real love—even if that opens her up to pain that could send her back into her emotional shell forever.

xmas-dividerI remember it to be a quick read for me, I manage to get through it within a night (into the early mornings).

What didn’t work for me was I couldn’t get into the characters. While I could sort of relate to Rachael and I understand that sometimes we say all the wrong things especially when we’re feeling sensitive and defensive, but with Rachael it got to a point where her character got a little too overbearing. It felt as though she was just being difficult for the sake of being difficult, in order to draw out the conflict she has with Ryan further.

Sadly, I don’t remember much of Ryan. The story was being told from Rachael’s point of view, and somehow I felt he didn’t have much of a voice. In terms of the couple, I couldn’t see how others were drawn to the book. I personally couldn’t feel the sparks between the two, it felt more like we should just accept they are attracted to one another, although they had some cute moments.

What I did like and remember was the incredibly lively football members. The team was lively and had this warm family feel to them. They added a lot of color to the story, their youngest and newest to the team, Abraham, had just attached himself to Rachael due to their religion and it was just really fun to read when the team was together.

I didn’t really have any difficulty getting through the story. I didn’t DNF it when I’m prone to doing so for books where I don’t feel into it. Instead, I had managed to finish reading it; so there had to be something to Parr’s writing which kept me going.

So would I recommend this? Not really. I could see how Rachael’s character could get annoying for some. I also felt the conflict between the two main characters just kept going in circles it just grew boring. As mentioned above it got a little tiresome, if only they could have communicated, it wasn’t something that need to be drawn out till the end of the book. It seems I’m also going round in circles regarding this issue. Anyways, I don’t think I will be reading the other books in the series, I’m just not sure if I would enjoy Parr’s style despite her easy to read writing.

xmas-divider

The border was designed to imitate the colors on the cover, I think I’m missing a dark red stripe, oh well. For this round I decided not to use an image to see how it would turn out…I sorta like the simplicity of it. It’s alright to go simple once in awhile 🙂

Leave a Reply

