Top Ten Tuesday: Top Historical Settings I’d Love To See or Read in Books

Base Photo by Daniel Nanescu

It’s Tuesday! Today’s date actually quite interesting, for this Tueday is the Second Day of week, on the Second Day of the month, on the Second Month of the year πŸ˜€ Did I even manage to make sense there? Perhaps I’m the only one who finds things like this fascinating? Anyway, it’s time for another TTT hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is: Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books — basically this week is all about the past or the future….spin it however you choose!

divider

I rarely read genres which are set in the future, I’m not too sure but I’m not particularly taken in by the Sci Fi genre. Although I really did love Back to the Future when it was release, and I do watch movies and series set in the future, just I rarely read the genre, which is why for this week’s topic I’m going to pick: Top Historical Settings I’d Love To See or Read in Books. I doubt I’ll be able to list ten…but will try my best.

In no particular order:
Heian Era
This was a period in Japan where Japanese art, especially poetry and literature was at its height in the Japanese Imperial Court. If I recall correctly, it was during this period which gave us works such as Sei Shonagon’s The Pillow Book (ζž•θ‰ε­) and Murasaki Shikibu’s Tales of Genji (源氏物θͺž) [These are the translated versions which I once owned]. I’ve managed to read the first portion of Tales of Genji, and was working through The Pillow Book while I was still in college, both for my classes, and I do remember enjoying them, but I don’t think I’ve ever finish reading either one. There is a version of The Tales of Genji which was illustrated by Yoshitaka Amano which I would love to own a copy of!

Sengoku Period
From here Japan turns a little more violent and blood thirsty…lots of internal conflict with shifts in their political power structure. With the shogunate losing power to the daimyo. It also marks the entry of guns into Japan. I’m also sure while not many, those who are into Japanese history would have heard the names of these three illustrious daimyo–Oda Nobunaga, Toyotomi Hideyoshi, and Tokugawa Ieyasu. I’ve not actually read any literature works during this period rather they’re more manga and anime. Such as: Princess Mononoke by Ghibli Studio; Vagabond by Yoshikawa Eiji , illustrated by Takehiko Inoue; and Brave 10 by Shimokita Kairijust to name a few. I HIGHLY recommend Vagabond if you’re interested in this particular time period, if you don’t already recognize the name Takehiko Inoue, he is the mangaka for Slam Dunk πŸ˜€

Meiji Era
I think many would be familiar with the Meiji Era, this is the Era where the West has begun to enter Japan, European literature was introduced into Japan. I actually do have a few favorite authors from this period such as, Natsume Soseki (Kokoro, I am a Cat, Botcchan, etc) and Yasunari Kawabata (Thousand Cranes, Snow Country, Dancing Girl of Izu, etc). I was introduced to their work through my Japanese literature classes; I’ve read more authors from this period, but these two are my favorite. The Meiji Era is considered quite fascinating for me, it was the period where Japan was shifting away from the feudal system into a more industrialized system partially due to western influences. Some popular manga set during this period would be, Rurounin Kenshin by Watsuki Nobuhiro πŸ˜€

Tudor Dynasty
I love the Tudor dynasty…I seem to have a love for books set during this particular period. This period also covers the Elizabethan period, at least for me. Let’s see some books set in this period, The Tudor Court series by Philippa Gregory, Skye O’Malley by Bertrice Small, A Woman of Passion by Virginia Henley, etc. It seems most of them are Historical Romance ;P But yes I do love historical romance set in this period…most of the romance is set around the political on going in court.

 

 

Victorian Era
Once again this is going to be a Historical Romance fest πŸ˜€ Well…there is also our perfect Victorian gentleman in Sherlock Holmes. There is also our famous Jack The Ripper mystery horror…which is not fiction, but in fact a real serial killer from that period. Some read during that period would be, Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, and another interesting read set in this period would be Perfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick Suskind, it is actually one of my favorite book. I’m not going to list any historical romance…since I’m sure many historical romance readers would have their own lists πŸ˜€

Medieval 
I think this is a given especially for fantasy readers, since many of the world building in high-fantasy are set in the Western Medieval period. This is period of lords and feuds and magic…castles and knights upon white steads. Basically a period where fairy tales were built upon πŸ˜€ LOVE IT! Can’t get enough of it! I’m especially into the Arthurian stories, especially after I read The Arthurian Saga by Mary Stewart in high school πŸ˜€ Other books set around this time period would be A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin, etc. I’m sure most fantasy reads would be able to list a lot more than I could πŸ˜€ I just love all the possibilities of books set in this period, its familiar yet still new and magical. 

divider

I don’t think I made it to 10 different settings, but I’m sure I listed a lot more books than 10 πŸ˜›

I know most of my favorite historical settings are from Japan, aside from English Literature, Japanese History was part of my major, and I did love it because it was just different yet familiar at the same time.

Did you manage to list 10 for this week’s TTT? Do share your links with me! I’m always prepared to add more new reads to my TBR ;D I hope I managed to introduce to you some new historical possible reads πŸ˜€

 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Historical Settings I’d Love To See or Read in Books

Leave a Reply

