Manga Review: Noragami – Vol.1 by Adachitoka

MR-N-AAnother entry for my Graphic Novel / Manga 2016 Challenge! I didn’t manage to read all that much this month, but I did manage to finish a volume of Noragami just before the end of February.

dividerI love stories which has supernatural themes…especially Japanese folklores with supernatural elements featuring youkai (mystic apparition), gods and the likes. Therefore I picked this series up with somewhat high expectations, especially seeing how its got some raving reviews about it. Noragami was published sometime in 2014, with 15 volumes printed and was considered one of the top selling drama in 2014; they’ve also released two anime seasons to date, so I’m picking this one up pretty late. Enough babbling from me…now on to the review! divider

20467269General Plot:
Yato is a stray god. He doesn’t even have a shrine, not to mention worshipers! Hoping he’ll eventually raise enough money to build himself the lavish temple of his dreams, Yato accepts all kinds of jobs. Of course, he can’t afford to be picky; from finding lost kittens to helping a student overcome bullies, no job is too small for Yato, the god-for-hire! An eccentric story with a charming cast of characters!

– Taken from Goodreads

My Impression:
(I won’t be giving a play by play summary of what goes on in each chapter, rather I’m just going to give my reaction to the story so far.)
As I’ve mentioned above I love supernatural themes, especially in anime and manga…heck I love em on telly too. So when I read the premise of the manga as well as the reviews, I really expected to enjoy the story.

First, I was really taken in by the art…but the art style on the cover doesn’t reflect the art in the pages. I mean, the art isn’t bad by any means but just not as gorgeous as the covers, so I was just a tad disappointed.

I had a really tough time just getting through the whole volume, while the story was sorta interesting, the characters didn’t really draw me in. Yato is the rude sorta protagonist, looking to be worshipped, despite his “homeless” situation, he is doing his best to raise enough “donation” to build his own temple – be basically charges everyone 5 yen for his services. While it all seems very interesting it still was a little difficult to get into. There just wasn’t much life in the characters in the story, the first chapter was like an epilogue, to introduce Yato and his situation to us; and the female character in that chapter was so annoying that I was glad she ended up as a side character. Although, when we were later introduced to the main female lead in chapter 2, I was just as disappointed, for she had very little personality in her, her character just fell very flat to me. I love strong female characters, even if they’re a little brash and tomboyish; I don’t mind feminine characters, because they have their own charms, but a female character with little personality is tough for me to get into. dividerI’m not really sure if I am going to continue with the series…although I do feel its unfair to judge it so quickly on merely 3 chapters (despite them being quite long chapters). At the same time I don’t feel comfortable recommending this to others at the moment, since I’m unsure of where I stand about it.

Have you read the series? If you have what did you think about it? Do you think I should continue? If you’ve not, do you think this is something you’d pick up? I really would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Manga Review: Noragami – Vol.1 by Adachitoka

Leave a Reply

