5Fave Book Covers: Month of March

BR-5FBC

I’ve decided to make this a monthly post; where each month I will share 5 of my favorite book cover designs. I know there are loads of gorgeous designs out there, but since I’ve not decided how I will organize this, I’ll just go with the flow…perhaps eventually I will settle on themes, or just continue to share them at random as I discover them.dividerBecause this is a new feature, it will be a little haphazard, oh well let me share with you my picks for this month!

25990703I saw this book cover in a newspaper feature, and instantly feel for it even from a distance (over my colleague’s shoulder). I really love the smoke effect and the colors they used. This is the UK version, which I prefer to the US version, which has a more orange-ish shade to its background. I’m not sure who the book cover designer was but according to Paul Cooper he had only requested 3 major edits: (1) mainly to use a more historically accurate writing stylus, (2) to increase the amount of smoke, and  (3) to make some of the shapes within the smoke more distinct. The cover has definitely led to me adding this book to my TBR list! I’m presently debating between purchasing an ebook from a physical copy…

16074352I was gifted this edition of Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina, and fell in love with the cover designed by Andrew Davidson. This isn’t really just a simple illustration, in fact this amazingly detailed cover was a wood engraving! While I’ve not read the book, and its still sitting all lovely in my bookshelf, it is definitely one of my favorite covers! The amount of details in this is just beautiful! He had also designed a set for Harry Potter, but the way the publisher had edited his work was not as appealing, the original versions were a lot more impressive (here’s the link to that set of designs).

7030046Among all of the covers from Megan Whalen Turner’s The Queen’s Thief series, my favorite cover from the series has got to be the first one, by illustrator Vince Natale. While I had started reading this book, I never really got far, it was sorta of difficult to get into. Yet, the cover is one of my favorites due to all the details put into the hands featured on the cover; from the scars to the redden fingertips, and even the detail in the scrappy nails. I just love all the details of the illustration. It does set a sort of mood for the book in general before you even dive into it, and that is really what makes a good cover. Although, I’m not really a fan of the lace borders, but the illustrations helps me over look the slightly gaudy border. Thanks to Chachic for reminding me of this particular cover!

18166936This is another beautiful cover! Leslye Walton’s The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, designed by Matt Roeser. I just love the feather design, with the minimalistic lines and uncluttered background, along with the beautiful color scheme, which gives off a sort of soothing yet melancholy blue mood to the book. I bet the hardcover of this book would be absolutely gorgeous! According to Roeser, the design was done with “foil stamped accents around the edge of the feather on the front cover and the feathers on the spine”. I would really love to hold a physical copy of this book in my hand. It’s on my TBR list, but I’ve yet to purchase it…I need to get to it!

Air Awakens (Air Awakens, #1)I fell in love with the illustration of this cover the moment I saw it! In fact, it’s another one of those covers which put the book on my TBR list. The designer to this cover is Merilliza Chan and in fact all the illustration she’s done for this series are gorgeous. I picked this one because I love how the element of air was portrayed in the illustration. In an interview with the designer, she mentions in her designing process for the book that “[she] think it’s important to get the “feel” and atmosphere of the book first and what’s really the point of interest in it.” And I think she completely nails the feel of the book, at least for someone like me who has yet to read the book, it just sets the whole feel of the story from the beginning.

dividerThese were my 5 picks for the month of March! What do you think of them? Have you read any of them? Would their covers draw your attention? Would love to hear what you think!

Edit: I had made a mistake and only posted 4 covers…it took me awhile to realize that! Just fixed it! 

11 thoughts on “5Fave Book Covers: Month of March

  1. You need to read Seraphina! I’m a fan of Vince Natale’s work for the Queen’s Thief series, I really think the designs he made were a good fit for the contents of the books. I heard a rumor that they’ll be reissuing the older titles in preparation for a new release, I hope the covers will be just as good.

    Like

      1. EXACTLY!!! Then I also feel equally as bad for good books with bad covers…coz they’re just not as inviting unless it’s been recommended or something…otherwise you just wouldn’t pick em up and end up missing out on a gem.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

