Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Bookworm Delights

Base Photo by Daniel Nanescu

This would be my first TTT for this month! Oh boy have I missed a whole bunch! Well I’m back with this week’s topic: Top Ten Bookworm Delights! The topic is as it is…bookish things which puts a smile on my face!
dividerI’m not going to play around with the topic too much…and just shoot this out straight! Without too much fanfare let’s get on to my list of happiness as a bookwork:

#1. The smell of books…
Sure…like many I’ve moved on towards a more digital form of reading – Kindle. Yet, I’m still in love with the smell of paper, especially as I flip through the pages…as a kid I used to walk into a bookstore and fan the books in front of my face just to get a whiff of the smell the pages emits. I still love it! I also love the smell of old books, walking into small used bookstore…filled with the smell of piles and piles of books! It definitely gets me excited and puts a smile on my face

#2 Bookshops…
What bookworms do not get excited by the sight of a bookshop?! Nope that is just not possible! I’ve never been able to walk pass a bookshop without at LEAST glancing through some of their bestseller display or a few rows of their shelves…even when I’m traveling I try to make some time to walk through a bookshop if I happen to see one! When I’m trying to kill time in the mall I’d usually head into a bookshop – flip through titles I’ve either never seen before or am interested in checking out.

#3 Book Covers…
I love book covers! You can find my love for book covers in one of my blog’s feature: My 5Fave Book Covers (you can check out my March & April posts) The joy of seeing a beautifully designed book…be it paperback or hardcover! I’m a sucker for gorgeousness which draws my eyes and interests to the contents which their covers protect. I love them!

#4 Finding new gems to add to my TBR
This sounds ridiculous…since I’m always moaning about how to handle my growing TBR list, yet I still get excited each time I find a new book to add to my list. The thrill and excitement of a new read always puts a smile on my face!

#5 Discovering others who enjoy the same books I do
I love it when I meet someone and they tell me they love to read and we find we enjoy the same books! It’s always fun to nerd out and have fan girl with others about my favorite books! Sometimes, it seems as though we’re speaking a completely different language despite the fact we’re still conversing in English. I really enjoy bookish discussions, although I don’t do much of them here on my blog…but personally I do enjoy reading them!

#6 Book blogs…
This is not only because I’m a book blogger myself. I used to be more of a book blog stalker prior to this…although I did not follow any particular book blogger. I just would come across posts other have written or reviews. I know some are particular about the reviewers they read but I tend to be quite eclectic, and love discovering new book bloggers…especially those who are able to put my thoughts into words…and what more put them out in a much more orderly fashion, than I can. It’s great to know there are like minded people out there, who share my ideas…similarly its nice to find opposing ideas which help in giving me a different point of view about a bookish issue.

#7 The ability to immerse myself into any world/universe…
…just through flipping through pages and the power of words I am able to transport myself into a different worlds/universe/point of view/situations. Just by picking up a book and reading I can be anyone. It’s really great! There is something about books which allows you to do that, for me books allow me to experience a more thorough immersion into a completely new world and into my imagination. For example, Harry Potter…it feels like many of us who have read the book has been to Hogwarts; many of us have even gotten ourselves sorted into houses…and we feel a sense of connection to the world.

#8 Book deals…
I love book sales and book warehouse deals! Who doesn’t love good book deals?! Getting some of TBRs for a good price is always a good day…buying 2 or more books for the price of 1 is even better! Come one my fellow bookworms, don’t tell me this doesn’t get your heart racing and a smile tugging on the corner of your lips. My sibling actually is quite the sport, while she absolutely hates these things she would do her best to accompany me on these trips…

#9 Finding new authors and falling in love with them
I’m always open to new authors! And I get elated when I end up loving them! It doesn’t matter how their names eventually gets to me…but I love it! If anyone would like to recommend new authors to me I’d definitely be glad to check em out!

#10 Falling in love with a book…
I think this is the ultimate delight! When you read something and fall head over heels for it. I don’t think I need to explain this in detail…for you as a bookworm reading this post probably know this feeling just as well as I do. It’s an indescribable feeling…but as a fellow bookwork you would understand this 😀

divider

These were my top 10!!! Hope you enjoy reading them! What were yours?! Did any of mine make your list? Do share them with me!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Bookworm Delights

  1. Oh yes, the smell of books, there’s nothing like it. I feel crazy when I’m smelling books at times, but well, it is SO GOOD ahah, I love it. Bookshops are the best, I would spend hours in those places, looking at all the books and just feeling happy. And book blogging, oh yes, that’s so amazing. I can’t believe I found all of these wonderful people just like you to talk and fangirl about books with ❤ Great list!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahahahaha! I think it’s a very bookworm issues…my family can never seem to get why I get all crazy in front of a new book…going from elated to perplexed in a ridiculously short span of time 😂

      Like

    1. Thank you 😀 Falling in love with a book…then later the hangover….that feeling is pretty complex. I can see why it’s difficult for non-bookworms to understand, since it’s actually quite difficult to even describe the feeling 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I agree with all of these, especially #5. It’s been so great meeting people who like what I like and can talk about it. 🙂

    And I just gotta say – book cover game has been SO GOOD in the more recent years! Designers have really pushed boundaries and now books aren’t just something to read but also something decorative, if that makes sense. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I started book blogging 😁 it’s a wonderful outlet and opportunity to meet people u never thought you could or would! Yes on the book covers!!!! I wish I could up my own graphic game as much as they have but all these lovelies 😍 yes they make for gorgeous decorative pieces….what is even better is what these gorgeous covers protect 😁 Thanks for stopping by!!!!!!

      Like

  3. Yesss. Falling in love with books is awesome. Being able to hug a book you love after finishing it is even better. Sure, that usually elicits “you’re such a nerd” comments from my friends, but they totally say it out of love 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yessss book hugs!!!!! 😍 my friends are used to it…but unlike bloggers I meet…not many of my friends fangirl about books like I do. I have some voracious readers but they’re not the type to share or go nuts over a book 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

