Book Review: Pretty Face by Lucy Parker

br-pf-lp

I’M BACK!!!

It’s been awhile, and I’m pretty backlogged in terms of book reviews! Despite that, I decided that my first post for 2017 should also be my first favorite read for 2017, which is Pretty Face by Lucy Parker!

divider

30631124Genre: Contemporary Romance
Expected Published Date: February 20th 2017
Publisher: Carina Press
Synopsis: It’s not actress Lily Lamprey’s fault that she’s all curves and has the kind of voice that can fog up a camera lens. She wants to prove where her real talents lieβ€”and that’s not on a casting couch, thank you. When she hears esteemed director Luc Savage is renovating a legendary West End theater for a lofty new production, she knows it could be her chanceβ€”if only Luc wasn’t so dictatorial, so bad-tempered and so incredibly sexy.

Luc Savage has respect, integrity and experience. He also has it bad for Lily. He’d be willing to dismiss it as a midlife crisis, but this exasperating, irresistible woman is actually a very talented actress. Unfortunately, their romance is not only raising questions about Lily’s suddenly rising career, it’s threatening Luc’s professional reputation. The course of true love never did run smooth. But if they’re not careful, it could bring down the curtain on both their careers…

**ARC courtesy of Netgalley in exchange for an honest review**

divider

Lucy Parker had made it onto my autobuy list, after I’d only read two books from her! I really enjoyed Act Like It, that I got super excited when I found out she was planning a second book set in the West End Theater. When I was approved an ARC from Netgalley I was ecstatic! Although, I will admit, when I first read the synopsis, I didn’t think it would be something I’d be into, but I trusted Lucy and just dived right into it! And I’m glad I did, because I just fell in love with the couple. In fact, I love this book a lot more than Act Like It, that it instantly became my favorite read to open my reading year of 2017.

It’s been a while since I’ve written a review or tried to organized a way to share my thoughts, so I’m going to be trying a new method of putting together a coherent review. 

Pretty Face was an interesting read for me in the sense that unlike most books I love, I didn’t blaze right through it. Instead I took it slow and easy, and didn’t want it to end. 

The main characters.  Let me start with Lily Lamprey. I absolutely adore her, the girl is blessed with gorgeous looks, and sadly that is all those who see her on the small screen would give her credit for.

“If she’s as vacant as she looks on screen, she wouldn’t be able to tie her own shoes.”

But really, behind those gorgeous looks and breathy “Marilyn Monroe” voice she is an incredibly smart, witty and lovable woman. Life hasn’t been easy to her, she works hard for what she has and does her best not to let it take her down. I’m rarely the sort who loves characters who is the whole package, but it is actually really hard to dislike Lily, if she were real, I’d totally wanna be her friend!

Then there is Luc Savage…honestly, Lucy Parker creates wonderful “grumpy hero”. A quick intro to him would be:

“This was Luc Savage. Award-winning, career-making, ego-curdling Luc Savage. Get-in-my-way-and-I’ll-crush-you-like-a-bug Luc Savage.”

There are all sorts of grumpy heroes out there and Luc is an icy grump. He is honest to a fault and can be really harsh when providing feedback; yet he gives credit where credit is due, and is willing to apologize when he is wrong (I do like a man who can take responsibility for his own mistakes). Plus the man definitely knows how to pose for paparazzi pictures.

“Savage obviously subscribed to the Victoria Beckham school of posing.”

The characters are all very well-developed and realistic, I didn’t find them campy and was completely sucked in and charmed.

The snappy witty exchanges. There was just so much chemistry between Lily and Luc, you could just see it in every conversation they exchanged. Even while they were fighting off their attraction for each other with reasons such as: “he’s my boss/she’s my employee”, “he’s too old/she’s too young” and etc.

Lily: “There’s just the faintest strain of Simon Cowell running right through your family, isn’t there?”

Luc: “I don’t think I’ve ever suggested that your voice would cause a farmyard stampede.”

That was just a small sample of how they communicate, and its wonderful! Lucy is a master at witty banters and snappy comebacks that I wished I could come up with some of the things her character says and use them in my own exchanges. I definitely enjoy every bit of it.

A layer of depth to their issues. I really loved how problems didn’t arise for the couple just due to a few miscommunication. Miscommunications which blow out of proportion and causes drama is a pet peeve for me, its a plot vehicle which is over used and unnecessary. In any case, this couple isn’t broken down by such problems, instead because they are quite self-aware of what is wrong in themselves, they try to handle it the best they can. Although their choices may not always be the right ones, yet it was the best they felt they could do with what they were handed.

SPOILER: hover over here for a second to read the spoiler.

I could not find any issue with this book. It made me laugh, made me giggle, made me smile and it even made me cry. There were a few scenes in the book which totally tugged at my heart and forced the tears to roll.

This was easily a 5-star read for me and I would recommend this book to anyone who would listen to me rave about it! The plot flowed very well, and was incredibly believable – not once did I pause to wonder if something could be possible/would work. So if you’re looking for an easy witty romantic read, do pick up Pretty Face and support Lucy Parker!

divider

The original photograph used in the banner was taken from SRF of the Concert Theater Bern. Please do inform me if the original owner would like me to remove this, I’ve not gotten any permission to use it for my banner.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Pretty Face by Lucy Parker

  1. There are some books that you simply enjoy reading. I could see how much you had fun with this one~ I’m not much for romance but this looks like a giddy read I don’t mind checking out. Thanks for the review and welcome back!

    Like

  2. I actually read Act Like It based on your recommendation very recently, and OMG I LOVE IT. I mean, it’s pretty damn good for a contemporary romance novel and I was really, really entertained by the writing and the characters! Lainie was so great. I kind of want to request the ARC but I’m honestly too lazy to review it, so I think I’ll just wait, haha. Did Pretty Face’s characters make an appearance in Act Like It? I’d love a whole ‘West End’ series. πŸ˜›

    Like

    1. I loveeeed Lainie so much in Act Like It!!! If you enjoyed it, you’d def enjoy Pretty Face. Lucy totally upped her game in this one! Lily and Luc didnt appear in Act Like It, but Lainie and Richard makes an appearance in Pretty Face and they were suuuuuper adorable!!!!!! I hope for a series too!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

