Book Review: The Final Empire (The Mistborn Trilogy #1) by Brandon Sanderson

br-tfe-bs

This was an absolutely brilliant read! It takes awhile to get into it, but so worth it! I know my reviews has been mostly romance as of late, but I had read this book last year, with the intention of reviewing it. So here are my view…

divider

It has been awhile since I picked up such a hefty read, the last one was Game of Thrones which I never exactly completed (am gonna have to fix that). The set I bought is the one I will be giving details on below.

6547258Genre: Fantasy
Published Date: July 17th, 2006
Publisher: Gollancz, Orion Publishing Group
Synopsis: In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life.

The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?

divider

This book was absolutely refreshing! There’s only so many words to describe how good it was so I am also going to repeat myself and say this book was a BRILLIANT read! The world-building was amazing and the magic system was original and unique! The characters just draws you in! Normally, I’d include quotes from the book, but since its been awhile since I last read it I’m just gonna highlight points in my review.

Let me just start with the magic system! Sanderson didn’t just create one magic system in this world but two incredibly creative, complicated and logical magic system: Allomancy and Feruchemy. Both magic abilities had a lot of rules, as well as limitations and drawbacks. Although it just made the magic more realistic and believable. On the flip side, it could get a little overwhelming trying to understand ane absorb everything, but after awhile it will all make sense (although I do still have quite some questions regarding the magic, but I think more will be revealed in the next book).

The world building was impressive! While there’s quite a bit to get through with all the history, culture, society rules and regulations, politics, etc. It all came together to create this incredibly vivid world, which just sucks you into its relatively colorless world.

I am quite the character person, and the characters in this book were very well written! I do like how everything is not strictly black or white, right or wrong; there were some questionable grey areas. I’m not going to go through all the characters but I will mention that Kelsier, was definitely my favorite! He was an incredibly charismatic leader, and optimistic almost to the point of reckless. He was no saint, he could be incredibly judgmental and prejudice, he was incredibly ruthless and wouldn’t hesitate to kill if he thought it was necessary to further his cause. I really appreciated that he wasn’t flawless and wasn’t the absolute hero type.

My second favorite character was Sazed; a soft spoken and kind man with so much wisdom and knowledge; a character who collected knowledge (his character sorta reminds me of “bookman” from the manga D.Grey man by Hoshino Katsura). His particular interest was in religion, and as a past time he would introduce new religions to Kelsier; he was just incredibly fascinating to me. I should mention Vin…but she hasn’t really grown on me the way Kelsier and Sazed had, but she was definitely important.

What I didn’t really work for me was the incredibly boring romance. It was what stopped me from giving this book a full 5 stars. The “blossoming relationship” was really one dimensional and it thrown out there in a very matter of fact way. It was amusing to some extent to give us a better view of how the nobles interacted and how word of mouth would spread through the grapevine; but that was about it for me.

I would have also appreciated if the villains were a little more fleshed out. We were giving such wonderful perspectives of the characters, that I wish we had the same development for the villains. Many felt a little 2D, I would have appreciated a little more insight and depth. Perhaps its because it’s only the first book, and there it basically there to set the mood and to educate us more about the world; but I wish there was just a little more substance to the villains.

Overall, it took awhile to get into, BUT well worth the time!

Would I recommend this book? OH HELL YES! Especially, if you’re looking for something a little different from some of the more well known magic fantasy books in the market. It has a very fluid storyline, strong world-building, intriguing magic systems and wonderful characters. It was definitely one of my favorite reads! Now if only I could find it in me to pick up book 2…it can be a little heavy for me at the moment.

divider

Have you read the book? If you have, what did you think about it? Did you love it? Did you hate it? If you’ve not read it, would this be something you’d pick up? Would love to know what you thought, looking forward to hearing from you!

divider

The image on the banner was from The Final Empire published by Tor.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: The Final Empire (The Mistborn Trilogy #1) by Brandon Sanderson

  1. Love this, Kim! As you know, I’ve finished the series by now and really enjoyed it – Sanderson is a master world-builder and I just love how action-packed and smart his magic system tends to be. I do think that the writing style in this was a bit too simple and too… tell-all, but I loved what he did with the world. Sazed is probably my favourite character too – just so wise and calm. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree his writing style was simple but, I think it helps when its such a complex world with so much going on I appreciates not having to sift through purple prose 😂 I just need to find some time to sit with the second book 😅 Sazed is quite different from the rest of the characters who are quite charged up…he’s prolly the most calm one as of now…it seems characters can change/die off easily in this world 😒

      Like

      1. I think I’m still mourning that last death…like…I’m not ready to move on 😭 I need time to just believe the series will continue with out that character! Plus not ready for who he will kill off next 🙈 but at least he gave that death meaning…it wasn’t just to shock and twist…it served something

        Like

      2. Yeah, that’s what I actually love about Sanderson! I was SO SHOCKED that character died, though – like I thought he was gonna play a huuuuge role but apparently not (although arguably his death plays a huge role). 😛

        Like

  2. I’m so glad to read one of your reviews again – and happy to hear you loved this book so much. I haven’t read anything by this author, but now I’m thinking I might be missing out – especially since it seems like this book is big and great on the world-building AND the characters – and I am, just like you, a HUGE character person, especially knowing they are so three-dimensional. Lovely review! 🙂

    Like

    1. Marie! Thank you for stopping by!!! If you have space in your reading schedule you should definitely pick this one up! And yeah, the characters are very three dimensional, its probably because the author spent quite a bit of time fleshing out the history and the culture of the world.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

